BudgIT Active Citizens’ Award: Kemi Dasilva Ibru, Tunde Onakoya, Hauwa Allahbura, 17 Others Emerge Finalists


BudgIT has announced the shortlist of nominees for the maiden edition of the Active Citizens Award, scheduled to hold on September 10, 2022 in Lagos.

A statement from BudgIT said the Award, which is one of its signature initiatives, will celebrate and recognise personalities, organisations and agencies that are championing causes, programs and initiatives that have positively influenced women’s rights…

Community service, disability rights and inclusion, political activism, civic engagement and action, journalism, human rights, effective service delivery and other gains of social activism in Nigeria.

According to the statement, it will also spark further discussions on the importance of recognising and appreciating development leaders’ contributions to good governance and effective service delivery in Nigeria.

The statement read in part: “Of the ten award categories, only five were open for nomination – the Oby Eszekwesili Award, the Award for Community Service, the Solution Journalism Award, the Award for Civic Activism, and the Disability Advocacy/Empowerment Award. With over 300 nominations, we are happy to announce the shortlisted finalists.

“The Oby Ezekwesili Award recognises Nigerian women who are breaking societal limits and impacting Nigeria’s socio-economic development and gender equality. Here are the nominees: Adepeju Jaiyeoba, BrownButton Foundation; Bisayo Busari Akinnadeju, ProjectOne; Oladiwura Oladepo, Tech4Dev and Dr. Kemi Dasilva Ibru, WARIF.

“The Award for Community Service celebrates individuals who have achieved excellence in their field through creating sustainable impact that has benefited Nigerians, especially in underserved communities. Here are the nominees: Gabriel Obinna Andrew, Community Development Advocate; Idris Bilyaminu Ndasadu’Lau, YAPD4Africa; Solomon O. Ayodele, Boys Quarters Africa and Tunde Onakoya, Chess In Slums.

“The Solution Journalism Award recognises the importance of using journalism to institute civic and social change. Here are the nominees: Lisa Gwamkat Gwamzhi, Radio Nigeria; Hauwa Shaffii Nuhu, Humangle Media. Johnstone Kpilaakaa, Freelance Journalist and Taiwo Adebulu, TheCable.

“The Award for Civic Activism spotlights the painstaking work that activism does to improve our democracy. Here are the nominees: Nelson Jide Olanipekun, Citizen Gavel; Hauwa Allahbura, PullUpNaija; Omidiji Olamilekan Qayum, Ymonitor and Muazu Alhaji Modu, Spotlight for Transparency and Accountability.

“The Disability Advocacy/Empowerment Award recognises individuals or organisations championing programs enhancing disability inclusion in Nigeria. Here are the nominees: Michael Thompson Showunmi, Raising Star Africa; David Anyaele, Centre for Citizens with Disabilities; Sola Owonikoko, Project Enable and Mojisola Odeyinde, Disability Rights Advocacy Centre.

“The five other categories not open for nominations include the Award for Institutional Transparency, the Corporate Award for Civic Investments (For-Profit), the Art for Activism Award, the Award for Inclusion and Diversity, and the Hall of Fame Award for Civic Activism.

“With support from Luminate, we will be spotlighting our finalists and the winners at the official event – The Active Citizens’ Award, scheduled to hold on Saturday, September 10, 2022, at the Civic Centre, Lagos. We urge every active citizen and all Nigerians to support and join us as we celebrate these personalities for their contribution to Nigeria’s civic ecosystem.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here