CMCR to hold International Conference on Media and Sustainable Development in Africa


The International Conference on Media and Sustainable Development in Africa, organized by the Centre for Media and Communication Research, CMCR, Pan-Atlantic University, will hold online on July 6 -7, 2022.

This is made known in a statement signed by The Director, Centre for Media and Communications Research, School of Media and Communications, Pan-Atlantic University, Dr. Nelson Okorie.


He listed the objectives of the conference to include: to advance a research agenda on the potential role of media for promoting the sustainable development goals in Africa, to encourage multidisciplinary activities that will provide practical solutions to mitigate the socio-cultural issues in Africa and to establish a hub of research interaction, engagement and mobilization of scholars in the domain of media and communication studies


CMRC according to him seeks to serve as an academic hub for interactions among faculty members, scholars, students and industry experts, which will promote leadership and sustainable human development in the realm of media and communication studies. It is committed to promoting and applying research that challenge inequalities and innovate for change in practice and policy across a broad range of media communities and organisations.

“The choice of this year’s conference on Media and Sustainable Development in Africa is meant to galvanize the attention of the media and communications scholars towards supporting sustainable development initiatives that will stabilize both the economic and democratic agenda and policies on the African Continent”, he said.

“Prof. Nnamdi Ekeanyanwu (University of Uyo) will present the keynote lecture titled “Africa and Sustainable Development Goals: The need for Integrated Development Communication.”  Other presenters at the Conference include: Dr Ada Peter (Covenant University), Dr Olayinka Ogundoyin (Bowen University), Dr Babatunde Adeyeye (Covenant University), Dr Beryl Ehondor (Pan Atlantic University), Dr Patricia Ernest-Onuiri (Babcock University), and Dr Samuel Okere (Babcock University).

Others are Dr Charity Ben-Enukora (Landmark University), Mr Lawrence Akande (Pan Atlantic University), Mr Lanre Ajakaiye (Landmark University) and Isaac-Ogugua Ezechukwu (Pan Atlantic University).





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here